top of page

When Your First Trimester Isn't What You Expected

Falling off the healthy train and embracing chaos


When I found out I was pregnant, I was quite honestly shocked. We'd only been trying for two-ish months and by trying I mean we weren't not trying but we weren't exactly trying-trying. I took a pregnancy test when I was a few days late and didn't really think anything of it until I looked - I was excited - but I couldn't breathe - was this really happening?


I always had a vision of what my pregnancies would be like - belly only pregnancy, in shape, drinking smoothies and exercising a few times a week just like I normally do. Everything would be fiiiiine.


Ha.


What I wasn't prepared for was just how little control over my body I had during my first trimester. I've always been very aware of my body, adjust my diet and exercise to stay in shape, at a certain weight, keep my skin healthy, have good digestion. Suddenly I had no control over these things. Healthy foods like salads, veggies and proteins made me nauseous. I was so tired I couldn't bear the thought of walking let alone a full workout. My skin and digestion were completely out of control. The things I always prided myself in being under control in my life were now something I not only couldn't grasp but I didn't even have the energy to think about.


It took time for me to let go of what I thought my pregnancy would be. I was reminded by the people that love me that even though I wasn't doing all the things I normally did, my body and the baby would be fine. Rest and finding something I could keep down were the most important thing during that time. So I slept. And I ate chicken nuggets. And I slept some more.


I'm now entering my third trimester and although my energy is back and my nausea has subsided for the most part, I'm still allowing myself to just enjoy this time and not freak out about making sure I have enough green juices or squats during the week.


No two pregnancies are the same. Don't let anyone, including yourself, take away from what's important during this time. Focus on the love and happiness that is growing within you and between you and your partner. Your baby - and you - will be just fine.

bottom of page