top of page

SPECIAL GUEST | Laura Anne Barbosa on her upcoming wedding & healthy lifestyle


Laura, your Instagram and blog are so chic and fun! What is the inspiration behind your business?


I’m an oversharer- that is what inspired me to start a blog. I’m super-social, love to write, and thought blogging would be a great creative outlet. I started my blog just about a year ago, and it has been an awesome experience so far.


And you’re getting married soon! How have been able to find balance between the demand from your job and wedding planning? What types of self-care do you find helpful?


I’ve probably been a bit more unbalanced lately. Ben and I have been having a blast planning our wedding, but it can totally be stressful. The biggest bit of self-care I’ve been doing lately is knowing when to say, “Stop!” We try to have one night during the week where we shut off electronics and spend a few hours hiding in our condo together. We cook dinner, have some wine, and watch TV.





The biggest bit of self-care I’ve been doing lately is knowing when to say, “Stop!”

How has your diet and fitness changed to prepare for the big day?


I’ve struggled with severe IBS since I was a teen (See, I’m oversharing). I follow a dairy-free and low FODMAP diet, but totally deviate sometimes. In January, I completed my first Whole30. I’m still shocked that I was able to go 31 days without a glass of red wine. My stomach actually flared up very badly. After a visit to my GI and a round of meds, I was able to get things under control again. I felt renewed after finishing Whole30 and truly think the flare was just a coincidence. I intend to do another round in late May and June.


When I work-out, I feel my best- mind, body, and soul. Working out is also super-social for me. I often spend my Friday nights in a workout class with my girlfriends. There are so many great fitness studios near me, so I opt to visit them rather than have a membership at one gym anymore. Elliptica in Greenwich and Joyride in Darien are my favorite cardio workouts. I’ve recently started doing CST50 in Darien again after taking several years off. It’s honestly the most incredibly challenging workout. I love it!



Let’s get specific about your favorite natural beauty and wellness products! What does your everyday skin care and makeup regime look like? Will you change it up for the big day?


I love, love, love, love Pure Bioderm products. The whole line was created by my dermatologist, Dr. Klein at Modern Dermatology in Westport. I use the hydrating serum and the B5 serum every morning. I wash my face with Young Living’s Orange Blossom Wash. Most days, my make-up routine is pretty minimum. I wear Bare Minerals lightweight foundation and mascara. My eyebrows are microbladed- which allows for minimum daily make-up. (Just my style!) I recently started using a lash serum at night, and WOW! It makes such a difference. After just six weeks, my lashes are longer and thicker.


I am planning to switch up my routine for the big day. I’m so excited to be collaborating with Dr. Klein this spring as I undergo several IPL treatments. Full disclosure, I will also be getting some filler underneath my eyes to give them a rejuvenated, yet subtle, appearance. Sometimes I think woman are quick to judge the whole “Botox and filler” thing. I’m all about doing what makes you feel good and leaving judgment aside. I’m 33 and learning to embrace that. Well, I’m also learning a little under-eye assistance is okay. I film all of my procedures with Dr. Klein and upload them to my blog. I’ve already had one IPL treatment and notice a decrease in redness and improvement in my overall skin-tone. I can’t wait to see what it looks like after a few more treatments.


You can find Laura at:

bottom of page